NC Concealed Carry Classes

NC Concealed Carry Classes

NC Concealed Carry Class

This is the class required by North Carolina to apply for the NC Concealed Carry Handgun Permit. LNPDSA conducts this approved NC concealed carry handgun training course (NC concealed carry class) for residents of New Bern, Craven and contiguous counties (Beaufort, Jones, Lenoir, Pamlico, and Pitt), and other residents of North Carolina. A Certificate of Completion is issued to participants who qualify.*

This a NOT a beginner’s class. Applicants who are unfamiliar with handguns are encouraged to complete our new Concealed Carry Prep/Handgun FAM 101, or a basic pistol course before taking this class. See our “Handgun Training” page.

Concealed Carry applicants are expected to:

  • Handle their handgun safely
  • Know how to load and unload their handgun
  • Know how to use the handgun’s controls, i.e., slide lock, magazine release, manual safeties, etc.
  • Know how to clear malfunctions
  • Know how to field strip and re-assemble their handgun
  • Understand the cycling processes of their handgun.

Successful participants receive the NC DOJ Certificate of Completion* required to apply for a concealed carry permit, as well as a framable LNPDSA Concealed Carry Course Certificate. Successful participants under 21 years of age receive the framable LNPDSA Concealed Carry Course Certificate, only.

Applicants who want to advance their defensive pistol techniques beyond this basic concealed carry course are invited to enroll in one of our defensive pistol courses, when they become available.

Background

In 1995, the North Carolina General Assembly passed legislation that allows eligible North Carolina residents to obtain a concealed carry permit. While commonly referred to as a “concealed weapons permit,” in North Carolina the concealed carry permit applies to handguns only (NC Gen. Stat. § 14-415.11). The legislation also stipulates that applicants must attend and successfully complete an approved NC concealed carry class conducted by certified instructors.

North Carolina Requirements

A component of the application process for a North Carolina concealed handgun carry permit is successful completion of an approved handgun training and safety course. The North Carolina Administrative Code requires “Concealed Carry Handgun Training” (CCHGT) to include at least eight hours of instruction, of which at least 2 hours will be legal issues, a written exam (12 NCAC 09F .0102), and a demonstration of a standard level of shooting proficiency (12 NCAC 09F .0105).

NC Concealed Carry Class Topics

This course teaches the following topics:

  • What is legally concealable in NC.
  • Where you can carry a concealed firearm, and where you cannot.
  • What North Carolina law says about the use of deadly force.
  • How to safely handle firearms.
  • The types of handguns and handgun actions.
  • Ammunition components and identification.
  • Selecting ammunition suitable for your handgun, and for the purpose intended.
  • The fundamentals of pistol marksmanship (muzzle management, trigger discipline).
  • Defensive firearm considerations (i.e., drawing from the holster and situational awareness).
  • Factors in selecting a suitable defensive handgun.
  • Things to consider when purchasing a defensive handgun.
  • Handgun cleaning and maintenance.
  • Factors in holster selection.
  • Things to consider when carrying a concealed firearm.
  • Interaction with law enforcement when carrying a firearm.
  • Federal and NC state laws regarding purchasing, storing, and transporting a firearm.
  • How to apply for a NC concealed carry permit.

Course Quizzes and Exams

During this NC Concealed Carry Class you will take 2 quizzes and 1 final written exam. Both quizzes are open book, the final exam is closed book. Practice sessions in safely handling, loading, and unloading revolvers and semi-automatic handguns are also part of the classroom work in this course.

Shooting Proficiency

IDPA Silhouette

Finally, you will demonstrate your proficiency during a range component where you will shoot 50 rounds from 1, 3, 5, and 7 yards at an IDPA silhouette. Safety is paramount! See our Range Safety post for tips.

Anyone exhibiting unsafe behavior may be subject to dismissal from the class without a refund.

Gear and Clothing Required

Aside from the classroom materials (notebook, pens, pencils, and highlighters), the gear and clothing are part of a safe shooting environment. Brass ejected from a handgun is hot. Appropriate range dress will help prevent burns from hot brass. NO LIVE AMMUNITION IN THE CLASSROOM AT ANY TIME!

  • Notebook, pens and/or pencils, and highlighters.
  • Unloaded, holstered and cased firearms are allowed in the classroom. NO LIVE AMMUNITION IN THE CLASSROOM AT ANY TIME!
  • Eye and ear protection.
  • Dress appropriate for a firing range. No tank-tops, low-cut, open blouses, or shirts. (Fired brass is hot!)
  • No open-toed footwear (sandals, flip flops, etc.).
  • Hat
  • Belt sufficient to support the weight of a holster and handgun.
  • A hard, outside the waistband holster appropriate for your handgun. No holsters where the opening collapses after the handgun is removed.
  • A handgun of .380 caliber or larger that is properly cleaned and lubricated, and at least two magazines for semi-automatic pistols. No single-action only revolvers.
  • At least 50 rounds of new, factory ammunition suitable for your handgun (100 is recommended). No re-manufactured or hand-loaded rounds.

Who Can Attend?

  • Any U. S. citizen or permanent resident (green card) 13 years of age or older can attend under the following conditions:
    • Participants under 18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. (Important Note: Those applying for a NC Concealed Carry Permit must be 21 or older).
    • Participants cannot be prohibited by Federal, state, or local law from owning or possessing a firearm or ammunition.
    • Participants cannot be under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or any substance that would be considered to impair your judgement, mental capacity, coherency, or alertness during any and all class sessions, including the range proficiency; this prohibition includes prescription drugs.
  • We provide training material to every participant, therefore students who are not preregistered cannot participate (i.e., no walk-ins).

Can I Attend If I Do Not Own a Handgun?

The short answer is yes.

The only segment where a personal handgun is required is during the live fire proficiency. You can rent a handgun to complete the proficiency exam.

How Long Is The Class?

Regularly Scheduled Classes: We offer this class in either of two venues. You may take either a 2-day course that meets for 4 hours, each, on Tuesdays and Thursdays after work, or a 1-day course that meets for at least 8 hours on Saturdays. The 8-hour instructional requirement does NOT include the range proficiency component. This is an objectives driven class. That means class time may exceed 8 hours in order to cover all the required topics.

By Appointment: If you are unable to participate in one of our regularly scheduled classes, you can arrange individual training, by appointment. Individual appointments are 8 hours long. The 8-hour instructional requirement does not include the range proficiency component.

How Big Are the Classes?

Classes are limited to six participants. Some of class material is printed locally on demand, however a portion of the class material is available by special order only. Therefore, walk-ins are NOT permitted.

Classes fill quickly, so register as soon as you can. Registration cuts off 36 hours before a class convenes (registration for Tuesday/Thursday classes closes 6 a.m. the day before the class, and registration for Saturday classes closes 8 p.m. the Thursday before the class).

When Do The Classes Start?

See our “Upcoming Training” page (right) for specific dates

Two-Day Class: The two-day class convenes every second and fourth Tuesday of the month from 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m., and reconvenes the following Thursday from 6:00 p.m. to 10 p.m. Attendance is required on both days. The range proficiency component is scheduled separately, after both classroom sessions are completed.

One-Day Class: The one-day class convenes on the third Saturday of every month from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (5:00 p.m. after Daylight Saving Time ends). The range component immediately follows the classroom instruction. In the event of rain, the shooting proficiency component will be scheduled separately. Bring your own snacks, and drinks. A working lunch is necessary to finish in the time allotted.

By Appointment: Individual appointments start at 8:00 a.m. The range component immediately follows the classroom instruction. In the event of rain, the shooting proficiency component will be scheduled separately. Bring your own snacks, and drinks. A working lunch is necessary to finish in the time allotted.

How Much Does It Cost?

  • Regularly scheduled class (one or two-day venue): $80 per person
  • By appointment, individual: $120
  • By appointment, two or more people: $80 per person

The costs include range fees. A deposit of $20 per person is required when you register on-line, with the balance due on the first day of class by cash, check, or credit card. The entire course fee is due on the first day of class by cash, check, or credit card for participants registering by phone. The cost of the course does NOT include the fees required by your permitting authority (i.e., sheriff department) to apply for a permit.

How Do I Register?

If you are interested in taking a NC Concealed Carry Handgun Training class, you can register through our “Upcoming Training” links to the right, through our scheduling portal, here under “Concealed Carry Classes,” or by calling 252.497.2965. Because we prepare some of the training material on an as-needed basis, walk-ins are NOT permitted.

You can book a class up to 180 days before the class convenes. However, you must register at least 36 hours before your intended class (i.e., no later than 6:00 a.m. the Monday before a Tuesday-Thursday evening class, or no later than 8:00 p.m. the Thursday before a Saturday class).

If you are unable to participate in one of our regularly scheduled classes, and want to make an appointment for individual training, schedule it here.

Can I Register More Than One Person At A Time?

You can reserve more than one training seat easily. After selecting the class or appointment, simply increase the “Quantity” on the registration page.  Training seats equal to the quantity entered will be reserved under the name of the person making the reservation. The deposit of $20 per person also will increase to reflect the number of training seats reserved. Balances due may be paid for separately.

Can I Register Someone As A Gift?

The short answer is yes. The best way to give a training class as a gift is to purchase a Gift Certificate/Coupon, here. Gift Certificates/Coupons are valid for 415 days from the date of purchase, so your recipient can arrange training at his or her convenience. Gift Certificates/Coupons can be printed or emailed.

How Do I Register With A Gift Certificate

To register for a class with a Gift Certificate/Coupon, schedule it here. To complete registration with a Gift Certificate/Coupon, simply select the “Redeem Coupon” button before selecting a class, or at the bottom after selecting a class. Enter the code on the certificate to apply it.

Want More?

Send us an email through our contact portal, here, to get your questions answered, or call us at 252.497.2965.

*NC DOJ Certificates of Completion issued by LNPDSA are valid in all 100 North Carolina counties.